ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS FROM THE ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

The organizers are grateful to many people and organizations that provided valuable advice or assistance in the planning of the workshop, and to all those who submitted abstracts or who served as session chairs. The Organizing Committee would especially like to thank the Royal Meteorological Institute (RMI) and its Director, Dr Henri Malcorps, and the workshop sponsors. We gratefully acknowledge the extensive local assistance of staff at RMI and the Résidence Palace, including Eve Honnay, Heidi Langenus, and An Neukermans of RMI. We are indebted to Sandy Lubker and Lucia Katz (NOAA/CDC, USA) for help with the CLIMAR-II website. Special thanks also are due to Rob Allan (Met Office, UK) and Phil Jones (East Anglia University, UK) for hosting an Organizing Committee meeting; to Glenn McGregor (University of Birmingham, UK) and Serge Gulev (P.P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology, Russia) for support toward publishing a special issue of the *International Journal of Climatology*; and to Joe Elms, Dick Reynolds (NOAA/NCDC), Henry Diaz (NOAA/CDC), Steve Worley (NCAR, USA) and Elizabeth Kent (Southampton Oceanography Centre, UK) for key organizational assistance.

CLIMAR-II Organizing Committee

Mr Scott Woodruff, Chair National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Climate Diagnostics Center USA

BELGIUM

Mr David E Parker

Mr David Dehenauw

Royal Meteorological

Institute

Mr Val R. Swail Environment Canada CANADA

Dr D. E. Harrison

Environmental

Laboratory, USA

NOAA Pacific Marine

Dr Miroslaw Mietus Mr D Institute of Meteorology and Water Management Office

POLAND

Mr David E Parker Hadley Centre, Met Office UNITED KINGDOM Ms Teruko Manabe Ocean Affairs Division WMO